Skip to main content

How to Setup and Manage a Minecraft Server Whitelist

Minecraft Servers have a feature that allows you to have a Whitelist. The Whitelist feature allows you to only allow specific players to join a Minecraft Server.

In this guide

Whitelisting is a feature that allows you to limit who can join your Minecraft server. When a Whitelist is enabled, only those players you gave access to can join.

notice
When running commands from the Server Console, do not include the /

You can use the following commands in game to enable & disable a whitelist

  • /whitelist on [This turns on the whitelist]

  • /whitelist off [This turns off the whitelist]

You can use the following commands to add & remove people from the whitelist

  • /whitelist add (USERNAME) [This will add a player to the whitelist]

  • /whitelist remove (USERNAME) [This will remove a player from the whitelist]

    notice
    Only a server Operator (OP) will be able to use these commands.

Using The Panel to enable Whitelist

  1. Login to the Kinetic Panel

  2. Stop your server by clicking the power button, then click the square icon.

  3. Locate and open your settings menu.

  4. In the settings menu, click the "Server Properties" tab.

  5. You'll then find a search bar. Here, you can search "white-list" and you'll see an option to set the Whitelist enabled value from "false" to "true".

  6. Optional setting: Enforce Whitelist. To find this setting, search "enforce" and you'll find this setting. Enforcing whitelist means that if you remove a player from the whitelist while they are online on your server, they will be kicked.

  7. Once you've made your changes, click "save" on the top right of the screen.

  8. Start your server by clicking the power button, then click the play button.

Managing whitelisted players in the game panel

In your servers game panel, you also have the option to view all the players that have played on your server, where you can also give or remove whitelist from them. To find this, follow these steps:

  1. While your server is on, locate and open the "Player manager" section on your servers panel.

  2. In this menu, you will see several options for each player that has played on your server, including a "Whitelist" button. You can also use the same button to remove players from your whitelist.

    notice
    The players that you see on this list are only the players who have played on your current world. If you've ever reset your world, this list will not show you who played in the old world.



Display and navigation

Accessibility options

Personalise how the website looks and how you move around it. Your choices are saved on this device.

High-contrast dark theme

Use black and dark backgrounds with white text and stronger borders throughout the site.

Keyboard link hints

Hold Shift to label visible links and controls. Keep holding Shift and type a label to activate it, or release Shift to close the labels.

Keyboard shortcuts

Ctrl+KOpen site search

ShiftShow link hints when enabled

Find your way around

Search Kinetic Hosting

Search site pages, game servers, knowledgebase articles, blog posts, FAQs and modpacks.

Enter at least two characters to search the site.